It Only Took Till June 2nd For Terry Collins To Lose His Shit

2 06 2011

Going into this season, we all knew it was only a matter of time before the Mets season/players/owners & coaches all  became irrelevant.  Well the first member of that grouping snapped yesterday, and as a Phillies fan, it was awesome.

Don’t pull this video MLB, please?

The man doesn’t have the answers, he just told you that.  He’ll take the blame, but he’s scraped the bottom of his brain and he has no ideas left.  Just a broken man.  His team and ownership have no heart and that bi-product shows on the field.  As we have the best record in the National League, the Mets coach is ass-blasting his entire team in a press conference.  And this comes weeks after owner Fred Wilpon ripped all three “super-stars” that he has.  Just dysfunction at it’s finest and when it’s at the hands of a NY team, so much sweeter.

Crossing Broad has the recap….http://www.crossingbroad.com/2011/06/mets-manager-loses-his-shit.html

Here is the full transcript via Matt Cerrone of Mets Blog:

“I don’t know how to describe (the 7th inning). I’m sick of trying to describe 7th innings. I’ll tell you what, Andrew McCutchen plays the game right. That son of a bitch runs down there 3.9, 4 flat, and you better catch it and execute it. He gets a ground ball to third base and beats it out. That’s how you play, and that’s how we’ve got to start playing.

I’m running out of ideas here. You know, do we play hard? Absolutely. That’s not the issue. The issue is not effort. It’s about execution. We need to add on points when we get the lead. I’m not looking for home runs. I’m looking for quality at bats. We can’t make careless mistakes, but we do. We give up at bats. We can’t do that. We don’t have that kind of team.

Make no mistake about it, I truly believe in the players we have. I don’t care where they started the season. I don’t care. I don’t care who were All Stars, who weren’t All Stars, this is a team thing; it’s not one guy, it’s not two guys; it’s a team thing. I sit up here every night trying to figure out what can we do to get us over the top. Should we hit and run more? Well, who do you have up there? You have guys up there you shouldn’t hit and run with. Should we bunt more? Well, if we don’t get bunts down, then you’re putting them in situations to fail. Guys are pitching good, but we get in situations where when guys need to make a pitch they don’t make the pitch. I don’t have the answers. I’m searching. I’m ringing the rag dry, coming in here, having to look at you guys looking at me like I’m a stinking fool. I told these guys, ‘We’re good enough, but we have to play the game right.’ We just can’t continue to make foolish mistakes. They’re big-league players. They should be able to do it. They should be able to do it. I don’t know if it’s not anticipating the play. I’m not in their minds. But, it’s how you play the game. This is a team thing. And, I’m not just pointing the finger at the players. I told the coaches, ‘We’ve got to do a better job, we’ve got to take responsibility for this.’ I’m the manager. It comes back on my shoulders.

In that 7th inning, those were my players I put out there, who I believe in. So, therefore, maybe I need to make some adjustments. And, by God, they’ll be made. I don’t know it comes with finding different players. But, they’ll be made. Something’s going to be changing.”

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

